

































































































The Honorable Bill Frist Senate Majority Leader **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

May 2, 2006

Dear Majority Leader Frist:

In June of last year, the property rights movement and every American suffered a monumental setback due to the Supreme Court's 5-4 decision in Kelo v. City of New London. The decision stated that private lands could be confiscated for private economic development by the government. Immediately, property rights organizations, advocacy groups and everyday citizens of every socioeconomic, political and ideological background united to stand as one in defense of their Constitutional protection of private property.

Many state legislatures debated this year and passed legislation to limit their state and local government's abuse of eminent domain. The House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed **H.R. 4128**, the "Private Property Rights Protection Act of 2005" in early November by a vote of 376-38. This legislation seeks to curb eminent domain abuse by withholding all federal economic development funds from states and localities that engage in these practices for a period of two (2) years. As you know, a bipartisan group of legislators ranging from House Judiciary Chairman James Sensenbrenner (R-WI) to Representative Maxine Waters (D-CA) was able to co-sponsor this legislation and send the measure to the Senate.

Unfortunately, this legislation has mired in the Senate Judiciary Committee, without a future hearing scheduled.

We, the undersigned organizations wish to express our support for Senate legislation to reform the type of abuse witnessed last summer in Connecticut, with property protections equal to that of H.R. 4128. Because of this legislation's adherence to the property rights provisions of the Fifth Amendment, we encourage the Senate to pass legislation to once again protect private property owners across America.

The freedoms enshrined by the Framers of the Constitution over two hundred years ago must be once again upheld and protected by Congress today. The passage of this type of legislation is an essential milestone in reaffirming the rights of American property owners.

## Sincerely,

60+ Association, Jim Martin, President

Alabama Policy Institute, Gary Palmer, President

American Association of Small Property Owners, Pat Callahan, President

American Conservative Union, David Keene, Chairman

American Family Business Institute, Dick Patten, Executive Director

American Farm Bureau Federation, Mark Maslyn, Director of Public Policy

American Land Rights Association, Chuck Cushman, President

Americans for Limited Government, John Tillman, President

Americans for Prosperity, Tim Phillips, President

Americans for Tax Reform, Grover Norquist, President

American Shareholders Association, Dan Clifton, Executive Director

Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions, Chris Derry, President

California Alliance to Protect Private Property Rights, Marko Mlikotin, President

Center for Individual Freedom, Jeffrey Mazzella, President

Citizen Outreach, Doug Bandow, Vice President of Policy (for identification purposes)

Citizens for Limited Taxation, Barbara Anderson, President

Commonwealth Foundation, Matthew Brouillette, President

Competitive Enterprise Institute, Myron Ebell, Director, Energy and Global Warming Policy

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste, Thomas Schatz, President

Defenders of Property Rights, Nancie Marzulla, President

Eagle Forum, Phyllis Schlafly, President and Founder

Ethan Allen Institute, John McClaughry, President

Evergreen Freedom Foundation, Bob Williams, President (identification purposes only)

FreedomWorks, Matt Kibbe, President

Frontiers of Freedom, George Landrith, President

Grassroot Institute of Hawaii, Richard Rowland, President

Illinois Policy Institute, Greg Blankenship, President

Independence Institute, Jon Caldara, President

James Madison Institute, J. Robert McClure, III, President

Liberty Coalition, Michael Ostrolenk, President

Maryland Taxpayers Alliance, Richard Falknor, President

Mississippi Center for Public Policy, Forest Thigpen, President

Missouri Citizens for Property Rights, Ron Calzone, Chairman

Missouri First, Bruce Hillis, Director

Montana Policy Institute, Lisa Hazlett, Founder

National Center for Public Policy Research, David Ridenour, Vice President

National Taxpayers Union, Kristina Rasmussen, Senior Government Affairs Manager

Nevada Policy Research Institute, Steven B. Miller, Policy Director

Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs, Mark Nichols, President

Pacific Research Institute, Sally Pipes, President

Property Rights Alliance, Scott A. LaGanga, Executive Director

Property Rights Alliance: Hawaii, Walt Harvey, President

Public Research Institute, Don Racheter, President

Reason Foundation, Geoffrey Segal, Director of Government Reform

Republican Liberty Caucus, William Westmiller, President

Rio Grande Foundation, Paul Gessing, President

Small Business Entrepreneurship Council, Karen Kerrigan, President

South Carolina Landowners Association, Mark Nix, Executive Director

South Carolina Policy Council, Ed McMullen, President

Tennessee Center for Policy Research, Drew Johnson, President

The Maine Heritage Policy Center, William Becker, President

The Rutherford Institute, John W. Whitehead, President

Virginia Institute for Public Policy, John Taylor, President

Cc: All United States Senators